The grass is greener…RIGHT HERE.

Standard

Brian got Active Duty Green to Gold option!!!!! Yaaayyyy, woohooo!! yeah! He’ll get to keep his salary while he gets his master!!!!! Great! Whoopie! He’ll be an officer by the end of it!!!!! YAY! Exciting! Can’t wait!!

I have now totally surpassed my allotted use of exclamation points for the next two months.

Truth is, I am relieved beyond belief that we got the Active Duty option, it helps a ton with our financial situation and it is the next logical step in Brian’s military career to become an officer. I’m excited and proud of him.

But I’m also grumpy. I don’t like change unless it’s my idea, and this is decidedly not feeling like my idea. I LOVE my job, not just “being a paramedic” but working here, in Cumberland county, with the crazies and the drunks and the nursing homes full of patients already over half way to heaven. I have great coworkers, I have FUN when I’m working, and I’m going to miss it, even the not so fun parts of it. And I’m going to miss the people I’ve connected with here, too. I don’t have short-timers syndrome, I have “YOU CAN’T MAKE ME GO!” internal temper tantrums.

My in-laws are really helping us out letting us move back in with them. They are great people who are very supportive and loving, and they’re not charging us rent-another HUGE help with the finances. But…we have a house here. It’s OUR house. I have one room dedicated entirely to ME that I’ve painted with stripes of varying widths and shades of green. I have tulip beds by the mailbox and grape hyacinths beneath the pear tree out front and neighbors Brian spies on through the kitchen blinds. I’m going to miss this house.

I’m trying to look on the bright side of things, but the truth is, I don’t feel like the grass is greener on the other side of the fence, I think it’s greener RIGHT HERE and I don’t want to leave it.

Alright, alright, I’m done being overly whiney. We’ve prayed long and hard about getting this opportunity and now that it’s happened I’m being exceedingly ungrateful. I guess I’ll never be super happy about change and moving, but one day, hopefully, I’ll acquire the good grace to accept it without grumbling. In the meantime, I’m going to go tape a cardboard box to Remus’s nose and see how long it takes him to shake it off purely for entertainment purposes. I may hate moving, but at least I have opposable thumbs.

3 responses »

  1. Maybe the grass is really only greener there because of Remus’ ever-present splatter poo fertilizer? And if THAT’S the case you can take heart! Because you get to take that with you! woo boy! you are WELCOME.

    Like

    • Hahahaha, thanks for that wonderful bit of encouragement. I’d take heart except he seems to be splatter-poo’ing the kitchen lineoleum more than anything else, and if that turns green I’m in big trouble 😛

      Like

      • Okay, I know you may not want to, but you’re going to need to sell the house, and telling people the kitchen is decorated in splatter-poo is somewhere on HGTV’s list of “how not to sell a house.” I don’t really have any “feel good” encouragement on this one that won’t come across as patronizing so I’ll just ditto Rachel’s insightful comment 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

