Maternity Fail…

Standard

So I’ve been putting off buying maternity my clothes for as long as I can. Tis the season of sweater dresses and layers, so I don’t see the point of spending a lot of money on clothing I’ll wear for less than 6 months. However, I knew I’d have to bite the bullet eventually so when my MIL suggested we go try Belk because she gets a 20% discount I said sure.

My tiny bump is enough that I’m wearing borrowed jeans and rubber banding my own jeans shut, but not enough to really draw much attention. Pre-pregnancy I wore a 0-3 long pants size, I don’t have much of a butt (thanks mom), but I’m also decently tall. Nothing like my sisters who are both taller than me by several inches, but enough that many jeans in my size are too short.

Maternity jeans come in xsmall, small, medium, large, and various x’s after that. Translation: they were either way to short, or made me look like I was wearing a saggy adult diaper.

I gave up. I’m a bit grumpy, feeling icky, bloated and unattractive, and more than a little annoyed. Maybe when my bump fills out more stuff will somehow fit the rest of me, but in the meantime I’m stocking up on rubber bands.

In other news, we voted! I think we might’ve been making people around us nervous by our mock serious discussion of writing in Putin for President, but honestly, it was freezing in line and I am SO tired of all the political arguments that neither of us actually wanted to discuss anything actually pertinent to the election.

2 responses »

  1. I have negative butt-age, too. Big legs, no butt. I actually found some cute pants at Ross for cheap. I haven’t been able to find anything anywhere else.

    Like

    • I’m glad I’m not the only pregnant lady out there with “negative butt-age” hahaha. I’ll have to try Ross at some point then 🙂 Aren’t you only a few short months away from due date? I hope you post a few pics on facebook of your little monkey!

      Like

Leave a Reply

