December Health and Fitness Challenge

Standard

Fellow blogger Valerie at Atlantamomofthree has decided to start a health and fitness challenge for the month of December. Click here to view her post and answer in her comments if you’d like to join! Since I’m all about being healthy I’m looking forward to participating. The cool thing is, you can make your own goals. So start small, aim large, whatever you think you can fit in whether it be cutting out french fries and soda or start training for a marathon, your choice.

Mine’s simple, since I’m already going to be trying to run more 5ks before the Potato’s grand entrance, I really need to make a better effort to run consistently throughout the week. (Confession, I’m not a hard core train for speed runner. I liked training for distance-long and slow runs-but I never really bothered with training for 5ks because they’re only 3.1 miles and I’m not looking to win any medals.)

My goal: Run at least 1 mile, 3 times a week. Unless, of course, my OB tells me to stop.

-Mini goals that go along with this goal to help me gain and maintain a healthy weight:

  • Drink a glass of milk a day
  • Aim for at minimum 2000 calories a day. (I’ve gotten pretty good at estimating calories, when training for ultras my hubby and I aimed closer to the 3000 mark).

Speaking of running, the Christmas Classic 5k went ok, a little uncomfortable for a few reasons-mainly, I REALLLY had to go to the bathroom by the time the gun went off. This whole pregnancy my, um, gastrointestinal tract has been a little flakey but with the help of Raisen Bran I’ve avoided constipation the last few weeks. However, I get no warning, and then I have to go. Immediately. That made running a little awkward to say the least, but boy did it motivate me to finish as quick as possible! My hips were also a little achy by the end (slight understatement there) so I’ve got to watch my running since everythings all hormonally loose at the moment.

BUT, the Potato gave me a kick big enough to surprise me right near the end, so either the Potato likes running or it wants me to cut it out, haha. It’s fun being able to feel the occasional pops and jabs, it’s still mostly when I’m sitting still or lying down, but I can feel them more frequently now 🙂

Now for a random comment by Brian:

Watching the end of a live performance of the musical Scrooge where all the actors and actressess are taking their final bows. I spot the ghost of Christmas Yet to Come (the one dressed in robes with a sickle who doesn’t speak) and I nudge Brian:

Me: “oh look, Death took his mask off.”

*slight pause*

Me: “Wait….is Death a girl?”

Brian: “Yup. It’s the women that kill you.”

3 responses »

  1. So glad you’re doing the challenge too! It’ll help to have others I’m accountable to. 😀 Hey, have you ever tried Stonyfield Farms YoBaby yogurt? It’s full fat (made with whole milk) and it might be a nice source of fat/calories for you if you’re looking to gain weight in a healthy manner. I got it for my toddler who could use to gain a bit a few months ago. 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh that sounds like such great advice and I would absolutely take it…except yogurt creeps me out. I know, I know, it’s weird and I should be able to woman up and eat the stuff but then I start thinking about live bacteria cultures (which is gross) or possibly just dead ones (which makes me think of little bacteria corpses…which is REALLY gross) and I just can’t eat more than a cup of the stuff once a year without gagging. No, I don’t have an issue with cheese (even blue cheese) and yes, I know it’s completely irrational, but it’s true. I end up buying yogurt with good intentions, forcing myself to eat it for two or three days, and then avoid looking at in the fridge until it all goes bad and I can throw it out. The consistency doesn’t help, it’s slimy. I use it in cooking occasionally though! Somehow cooking nullifies the whole bacteria thing, really don’t know how that works but my brain has never made much sense. I can eat frozen yogurt, too. I think all of my microbiology classes have ruined me, eating a cup of yogurt out of the fridge in my mind is like licking a petri dish with samples from the woman’s bathroom grown on it. Ugh.

    But I will definitely keep it in mind if my munchkin needs it! He/she will be too young to know about petri dishes 😛

    Hope your exercising is going well so far!

    Like

    • LOL!! I know EXACTLY what you mean about the bacteria cultures!! I have thought the *same* thing on more than one occasion. Haha I didn’t think anybody else thought such things as me!
      I eat fruit on the bottom yogurt a few times a week because I used to struggle with frequent yeast infections (sorry, TMI) but then I read that adding yogurt to your diet can help…it cured it! So, I put up with cultures because of that. 😉
      Yeah, the exercising is going well, thanks! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

