Movies and Books of 2013

Standard

As is per my family tradition, old resolutions are reviewed and new ones made on New Years Day. I’m reviewing last years resolutions tonight, because I don’t always get time on the computer while chasing the Cadinator around.

Don’t worry, I’m only mentioning 2 of my resolutions. One was to view 52 new movies in 2013 (one per week-new referring to never before viewed by me, not necessarily recent). I did NOT manage to make this goal, but that’s not really surprising. I wanted to make it “ten new movies” but my hubby decided that “one per week” would be more fun and completely doable. Not with my attention span! However, I did manage to watch a respectable 35-which is quite a bit for me. If you read the list it’s kind of obvious what days I got to pick the movie.

My second goal was to read ten new books. I far exceeded this goal, even with Cade, but I’m only going to list ten because I can’t remember all of the books I’ve read. And I’m excluding Brian’s textbooks that I read after him. SO, without further ado, my lists.

MOVIES FROM 2013 (in order of viewing)

  1. Pitch Perfect
  2. Valhalla Rising (GROAN! So boring…)
  3. Hotel Transylvania
  4. Battle Royale
  5. Mad Max
  6. Black Swan (I really liked this one)
  7. The Perks of Being a Wallflower (watched it MULTIPLE times)
  8. Django Unchained (Brian’s favorite Romantic Comedy)
  9. Cloud Atlas
  10. Rushmore
  11. Scott Pilgrim vs the World
  12. Killing Them Softly (not impressed)
  13. Wreck it Ralph
  14. Machete
  15. The Guardians
  16. Bullet to the Head
  17. The Master
  18. Movie 43
  19. Zero Dark Thirty
  20. The King’s Speech (excellent)
  21. A Good Day to Die Hard
  22. Argo
  23. Dead Man Down
  24. Muppet Treasure Island
  25. Looper
  26. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (American Version)
  27. Team America
  28. Silver Linings Playbook (I really liked this one, too)
  29. Star Trek into Darkness ( 😀 )
  30. The American
  31. Dazed and Confused
  32. Gran Torino
  33. Domino
  34. Train Spotting
  35. Gnomeo and Juliet
  36. All the seasons of The Big Bang Theory up until now. Ok, I know this isn’t technically a movie, but it’s still a lot of tv for me so I’m including it.

10 BOOKS FROM 2013 (no particular order)

  1. Quiet by Susan Cain
  2. The Book of Atrix Wolfe by Patricia A. McKillip
  3. We, the Drowned by Carsten Jensen
  4. The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers
  5. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
  6. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
  7. Pnin by Vladimir Nabokov
  8. The Reluctant Fundementalist by Mohsin Hamid
  9. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
  10. The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

 

So there you have it. Maybe next year I’ll do 10 new movies and 20 new books? I’m toying around with the idea of keeping track of ALL the books I read this coming year, listing all the repeats, so I can see how much I really read. There are several books I’ve reread four or five times this year alone.

Alright, I guess I’ll go work on my Goals for 2014. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post! 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Very impressive lists….and that you’re on top of the 2014 goals. I have no clue. I thought one might be cleaning all the stickers off of our floors but that’s way too unrealistic 🙂 I look forward to your post tomorrow….maybe I’ll take a few of yours 🙂

    Like

    • hahaha yeah, cleaning all the stickers is definitely unrealistic…maybe just the ones inside the dryer? 😛 I’ve condensed pretty much every New Year’s Goals into new books and movies-much like the standard “get all A’s and B’s” we put down every year while in school. Although I also usually include some vaguely determined ideas towards cooking, which are definitely too optomistic-but I persist!

      Like

Leave a Reply

