Pool Day

Standard

So today we tried a “one nap” schedule to see how it’d go. Cade slept from 11 to 130pm and we had an early bedtime at 630 (eek!). Here’s hoping he doesn’t wake up at 4am…

Anyway, the best part of the day was in the afternoon where after a quick trip to Walmart to buy Cade swim trunks/shirt we took him to the pool for the first time. 😀 I’m going to write down what happened just so one day I can look back on it and remember. 🙂

The pool we went to on post was pretty sweet, with some fountain/splash stuff set up in the shallow shallow end. Cade was ok pointing at the water and getting his feet wet, since he plays with the hose everytime I water the garden. There were a LOT of people and it was definitely overwhelming at first. I picked him up and placed him in slightly deeper water (up to his knees) no deeper than I fill the tub sometimes for bath. He loves baths  but he was not having any of the pool! Out came the grumpy face and some halfway crying. I let him climb out on his own and waited a few minutes before trying again.

The second time I held him and walked in till the water was up to my waist. He still wasn’t thrilled, fussing but not crying, and definitely pouty. I got his bottom wet and he lost it. SO I let him hold on to the side and push off my legs to haul himself out and patter back to the safety of the pool chairs. I waited a few more minutes until he started showing interest in the people in the pool again-he was fascinated by all the young children and babies in the water especially.

Back in we went, back to the deeper water (a little above my waist and covering his tush) and I swirled him around and dipped his hands in. He finally started showing an interest in the water itself, and soon he was offering tentative grins at the antics of the kids around him. I headed back to the shallower water until I could sit while holding him. We were close to this huge fountain/waterfall/mist thing he had kept pointing at, but far enough away to not get sprayed. He clung like a monkey for a good ten minutes and it was super cute, I kept trying to set him down so he could stand but he kept reaching his feet towards me instead of the bottom of the pool so I was just bouncing his butt in the water-which he didn’t seem to mind. Eventually I got him standing, although at first he maintained a death grip on my arms. Soon he released one hand to splash the water himself. And then both hands and the cackles and yelling came out full force 🙂 🙂 🙂

We played in the shallow end for awhile. I got him to take a few steps. He lost his balance once and sat down-which meant he went under just enough to cover the top of his head and then popped back up. He was NOT happy, but not screaming either. I held him (without getting out of the water or even getting up) and waited for him to calm down which didn’t take a full 30 seconds. Thats my brave little man 🙂 He was back standing and walking and smiling at all the other swimmers soon enough.

We stayed at the pool for a total of 45 minutes. One of the cutest things is that sometimes when Cade is stuck between nervous/anxious-excited/happy he tends to want to kiss my face over and over and over again. Big sloppy open mouthed kisses, blowing bubbles on my cheeks, and then pulling away and grinning at me. I love it! I got a lot of kisses 🙂

It was a fantastic day. Brian took pictures with our snazzy new phones instead of getting in with us, but at some point he’ll be part of the fun 🙂 . I can’t wait to go back tomorrow!

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

