Progress Check

Standard

One of my New Years ‘s resolution is to intentionally exercise daily. Even if it’s just a set of squats or a solitary plank, I wanted to make exercising a priority again (I did a handstand outside with Cade one day and was MORTIFIED by how short I held it. Unacceptable. Beyond unacceptable). This is just an update on how I’m doing so far. 🙂

One of the reasons for the terms of this resolution is the reality of having two small children under the age of two. Exercising had to be fit in the nooks and crannies of the day and couldn’t be squished in to one particular time with 100% regularity (with the exception of naptime, although Zane’s current sleep unpredictibility makes this tough as well)-and when a kid got sick or I got even less than my average four hours of sleep I could do five pushups and call it a day. So far, this has worked remarkably well. I have forgotten to exercise on two seperate days, but otherwise I am still going strong!

I wouldn’t be doing so well if it weren’t for my neighbor. We’ve already solidified our friendship over tea, baked goods, and book swapping, grumbling at YouTube workout instructors together was the inevitable next step. So when the adorable snuggly rampaging monsters are finally tucked in for nap time (with the exception of Zane-sometimes he’s asleep, sometimes he comes with) I head over for a daily workout with April. We’ve actually been pretty consistent so far (knock on wood) the only break we get is weekends when our respective hubbies suddenly reappear as if by magic.

Fortunately (or unfortunately depending on my mood) Brian remains encouraging and supportive and talks me into attempting p90x workouts with him on days I don’t workout with April. …yaaayyyy….

My muscles have been sore almost evey day this month and I can’t complete a full p90x workout so I feel pretty pathetic.

All this to say, I think I want to kick it up a notch come February. I’d really like to get some muscle tone and definition back, not to mention stamina. Now, I’m still trying to somewhat pace myself. When Cade turned 4 months I did that half-marathon which was excruciating. At just 6 months post partum (right before I got pregnant, actually) I completed a Tough Mudder. This time I’m aiming for more solid body strengthening and fewer crazy stunts, because although I like crazy stunts they tend to leave me exhausted and burnt out which kills any exercising consistency. But ramping up my exercising during February (additional p90x maybe?) coincides nicely with my plans for that month, so I’m going to give it a shot.

That’s all! Oh, except that I’m back on the no-poo bandwagon and recently attempted an egg wash. AND we’re cutting out dairy for Cade because of skin issues and it’s just been a week with no milk and already there has been improvement. Cheese is next to get the axe. So I’m officially….still not a vegan or paleo. But no dairy makes us a bit crunchier, right? Is that a good thing? I don’t even know anymore…at least I don’t feel guilty about hating yogurt. 😛

Ugh. Is p90x the gateway to Cross Fit? Please say it ain’t so!

3 responses »

    • So far they are a bit more intense then I have stamina for, but I can’t argue with the quality of workout. I’m just going to stubbornly attempt them until I get better, haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

