Pool Time!

Standard

Last year I introduced Cade to the pool for the first time and he was a few weeks past his 1st birthday. This year I got to introduce Zane to the pool at 8.5 months. The first time was at playdate with Max and Angela at Angela’s pool. The water was a bit chilly, but she had an inflatable raft for babies with leg holes and a canopy. I plopped Zane in that so I could keep an eye on Cade. Zane seemed pleased with the situation and happily munched on the raft while I held a much more hesitant Cade then he had been the year previous. Being two years old brings more perspective to the whole body awareness thing and Cade was definitely aware that he can’t swim, haha.

The following day Brian and I took the boys to the pool on post. I love how the pools here have beach entry and fun water features for the smaller kids. Brian worked on coaxing Cade into the water and I got to focus on Zane bug.

Oh. My. Goodness. He cracks me UP! He was a bit startled at first when I got him in above his waist, but he was almost immediately thrilled with the entire endeavour-and he insisted on telling me about it. He babbled and blew bubbles and screeched and giggled and was basically non stop adorable. He kicked and splashed and flailed around like a spastic drunken frog with the biggest grin on his face. I took him back to the beach entry and tried to get him to crawl in the shallow section, but the booger refused to put his hands and knees down. He kept limbs sprawled and wriggling as I held him in water less then 4 inches deep, the goof. Cade was finally coaxed into practicing his kicks and Brian and I “swam” them at each other a few times back in the deep end which finally elicited a few giggles out of Cade. All in all, it was a great start to summer vacation (not like Brian gets off work or that my schedule changes but, hey, whatever, I’m still calling it summer vacation).

We went back to the pool today, both boys had a blast and were zonked out at naptime. I love this time of year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

