Faster Than A Speeding Bullet!

Standard

So when I go for a run I pass two of those electronic speed signs that flash when you go over the posted speed limit (which is 20mph here). I snicker to myself everytime I’m running and a car comes up from behind and triggers the red and blue warning lights on the sign. “Sorry, Officer, I’ll try to keep my speeds in the human range.”

I know, I know, it’s really silly, but for whatever reason it always makes me smile to think I’M triggering the flashing lights with my law breaking running speeds.

Truth is, I AM breaking some of my own limits. I’ve been running consistently for over a month now, my goal is 5x a week and although last week I only was able to do 4 nights, I’ve got to be realistic about flight school demands and the boys’ schedules. It is consistently a real feel temperature in the triple digits (we had 2 days last week of real feel 116°F) due to the ceaseless humidity that is greater than 50%  one hundred percent of the time. The route I run is what I’d consider on the flatish side of rolling-it is nothing like the trails in the Virginia Blue Ridge-but still not flat. And despite this, yesterday I ran a mile in 7:48. I am proud of myself.

I have named myself a slow runner, and previously I was happy to maintain a 11-12 minute mile pace. The first time I pushed myself to run just one mile I was pleased to break ten minutes. Tonight I ran 3 miles in 28:08- a 9:36 mile pace. I ran THREE MILES in well under a ten minute mile pace!

I don’t want to be an award winning marathon runner, but I am thrilled to be pushing myself out of my running comfort zone and amazed at how much more I can do than I thought possible. Yes, I am a stay at home mom of two kids under 3, yes I’m pushing 30, yes I previously only ever ran long, slow distances, but no, I don’t have to “be” a slow runner. I may never trigger one of those speed signs (on foot anyway) but it won’t be for lack of trying. 🙂

One response »

Leave a Reply

